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633.202 Florida Fire Prevention Code.—

(1) The State Fire Marshal shall adopt, by rule pursuant to ss. 120.536(1) and 120.54, the Florida Fire
Prevention Code which shall contain or incorporate by reference all firesafety laws and rules that pertain to and
govern the design, construction, erection, alteration, modification, repair, and demolition of public and private
buildings, structures, and facilities and the enforcement of such firesafety laws and rules. The State Fire Marshal
shall adopt a new edition of the Florida Fire Prevention Code every third year.

(2) The State Fire Marshal shall adopt the current edition of the National Fire Protection Association’s Standard
1, Fire Prevention Code but may not adopt a building, mechanical, or plumbing code. The State Fire Marshal shall
adopt the current edition of the Life Safety Code, NFPA 101, current editions, by reference. The State Fire Marshal
m'ay modify the selected codes and standards as needed to accommodate the specific needs of the state.
Standards or criteria in the selected codes shall be similarly incorporated by reference. The State Fire Marshal shall
incorporate within sections of the Florida Fire Prevention Code provisions that address uniform firesafety standards
as established in s. 633.206. The State Fire Marshal shall incorporate withinsections of the Florida Fire Prevention
Code provisions addressing regional and local concerns and variations. _

(3) No later than 180 days before the triennial adoption of the Florida Fire Prevention Code, the State Fire
Marshal shall notify each municipal, county, and special district fire department of the triennial code adoption and
steps necessary for local amendments to be included within the code. No later than 120 days before the triennial
adoption of the Florida Fire Prevention Code, each local jurisdiction shall provide the State Fire Marshal with
copies of its local fire code amendments. The State Fire Marshal has the option to process local fire code
amendments that are received less than 120 days before the adoption date of the Florida Fire Prevention Code.

(a) The State Fire Marshal shall review or cause the review of local amendments to determine:

1. If the local amendment should be adopted as a statewide provision; .

2. That the local amendment does not provide a lesser degree of lifesafety than the code otherwise provides;

and
3. That the local amendment does not reference a different edition of the national fire codes or other national

standard than the edition provided or referenced in the uniform or minimum firesafety codes adopted by the State
Fire Marshal or prescribed by statute.

(b) Any local amendment to the Florida Fire Prevention Code adopted by a local government shall be effective
only until the adoption of the new edition of the Florida Fire Prevention Code, which shall be every third year. At
such time, the State Fire Marshal shall adopt such amendment as part of the Florida Fire Prevention Code or
rescind the amendment. The State Fire Marshal shall immediately notify the respective local government of the
rescission of the amendment and the reason for the rescission. After receiving such notice, the respective local
government may readopt the rescinded amendment. Incorporation of local amendments as regional and local
concerns and variations shall be considered as adoption of an amendment pursuant to this section.

(4) The State Fire Marshal shall update, by rule adopted pursuant to ss. 120.536(1) and 120.54, the Florida Fire
Prevention Code every 3 years. Once initially adopted and subsequently updated, the Florida Fire Prevention Code
shall be adopted for use statewide without adoptions by local governments. When updating the Florida Fire
Prevention Code, the State Fire Marshal shall consider changes made by the national model fire codes incorporated
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into the Florida Fire Prevention Code, the State Fire Marshal’s own interpretations, declaratory statements,
appellate decisions, and approved statewide and local technical amendments.

(5)  Upon the conclusion of a triennial update to the Florida Fire Prevention Code and notwithstanding any
other provisions of law, the State Fire Marshal may address the issues identified in this subsection by amending the
Florida Fire Prevention Code, subject only to the rule adoption procedures of chapter 120. Following the approval
of any amendments to the Florida Fire Prevention Code by the State Fire Marshal and publication on the State Fire
Marshal’s website, authorities having jurisdiction to enforce the Florida Fire Prevention Code may enforce the
amendments to the code. The State Fire Marshal may approve only amendments that are needed to address:

(a) Conflicts within the updated Florida Fire Prevention Code;

(b) Conflicts between the updated Florida Fire Prevention Code and the Florida Building Code adopted
pursuant to chapter 553;

(c) The omission of Florida-specific amendments that were previously adopted in the Florida Fire Prevention
Code; or

(d) Unintended results from the integration of Florida-specific amendments that were previously adopted with
the model code.

(6) The Florida Fire Prevention Code does not apply to, and no code enforcement action shall be brought with -
respect to, zoning requirements or land use requirements.'Additionally, a local code enforcement agency may not
administer or enforce the Florida Fire Prevention Code to prevent the siting of any publicly owned facility,
including, but not limited to, correctional facilities, juvenile justice facilities, or state universities, community
colleges, or public education facilities. This section shall not be construed to prohibit local government from
imposing built-in fire protection systems or fire-related infrastructure requirements needed to properly protect the
intended facility. :

(7) Any local amendment adopted by a local government must strengthen the Fire Prevention Code
requirements of the minimum firesafety code.

(8) Within 30 days after a local government adopts a local amendment, the local government must transmit the
amendment to the Florida Building Commission and the State Fire Marshal.

(9) The State Fire Marshal shall make rules that implement this section and ss. 633,104 and 633.208 for the
purpose of accomplishing the objectives set forth in those sections. ‘

(10) Notwithstanding other provisions of this chapter, if a county or a municipality within that county adopts an
ordinance providing for a local amendment to the Florida Fire Prevention Code and that amendment provides a
higher level of protection to the public than the level specified in the Florida Fire Prevention Code, the local -
amendment becomes effective without approval of the State Fire Marshal and is not rescinded pursuant to this
section, provided that the ordinance meets one or more of the following criteria:

(a) The local authority has adopted, by ordinance, a fire service facilities and operation plan that outlines
goals and objectives for related equipment, personnel, and capital improvement needs of the local authority
related to the specific amendment for the next 5 years;

(b) The tocal authority has adopted, by ordinance, a provision requiring proportionate reduction in, or rebate
or waivers of, impact or other fees or assessments levied on buildings that are built or modified in compliance with
the more stringent firesafety standards required by the local amendment; or

(c) The local authority has adopted, by ordinance, a growth management plan that requires buildings and
structures to be equipped with more stringent firesafety requirements required by the local amendment when
these firesafety requirements are used as the basis for planning infrastructure development, uses, or housing

densities.

Except as provided in's. 633.206, the local appeals process shall be the venue if there is a dispute between parties
affected by the provisions of the more stringent local firesafety amendment adopted as part of the Florida Fire
Prevention Code pursuant to the authority in this subsection. Local amendments adopted pursuant to this
subsection shall be deemed local or regional variations and published as such in the Florida Fire Prevention Code.
The act of publishing locally adopted firesafety amendments to the Florida Fire Prevention Code may not be

http://www leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0600-0699/0633/Sections/0633.202.html

2/4



Ve Statutes & Constitution :View Statutes : Online Sunshine

construed to mean that the State Fire Marshal approves or denies the authenticity or appropriateness of the locally
adopted firesafety provision, and the burden of protecting the local firesafety amendment remains solely with the
adopting local governmental authority.

(11)  The design of interior stairways within dwelling units, including stair tread width and riser height,
landings, handrails, and guards, must be consistent with chapter 10 of the Florida Building Code.

(12)(a) The State Fire Marshal shall issue an expedited declaratory statement relating to interpretations of the
Florida Fire Prevention Code according to the following guidelines:

1. The declaratory statement shall be rendered in accordance with s. 120,565, except that a final decision
must be issued by the State Fire Marshal within 45 days after the division’s receipt of a petition seeking an
expedited declaratory statement. The State Fire Marshal shall give notice of the petition and the expedited
declaratory statement or the denial of the petition in the next available issue of the Florida Administrative
Register after the petition is filed and after the statement or denial is rendered.

2. The petitioner must be the owner of the disputed project or the owner’s representative.

3. The petition for an expedited declaratory statement must be:

a. Related to an active project that is under construction or must have been submitted for a permit.

b. The subject of a written notice citing a specific provision of the Florida Fire Prevention Code which is in
dispute. .

¢. Limited to a single question that is capable of being answered with a “yes” or “no” response.

(b) A petition for a declaratory statement which does not meet all of the requirements of this subsection must
be denied without prejudice. This subsection does not affect the right of the petitioner as a substahtially affected
person to seek a declaratory statement under s. 633.104(6).

(13) A condominium, cooperative, or multifamily residential building that is less than four stories in height and
has an exterior corridor providing a means of egress is exempt from installing a manual fire alarm system as
required in s. 9.6 of the most recent edition of the Life Safety Code adopted in the Florida Fire Prevention Code.

(14) The Legislature finds that the electronic filing of construction plans will increase governmental efficiency,
reduce costs, and increase timeliness of processing permits. If the fire code administrator or fire official provides
for electronic filing, any construction plans, drawings, specifications, reports, final documents, or documents
prepared or issued by a licensee may be dated and electronically signed and sealed by the licensee in accordance
with part | of chapter 668, and may be transmitted electronically to the fire code administrator or fire official for

approval.
(15) For one-story or two-story structures that are less than 10,000 square feet, whose occupancy is defined in

the Florida Building Code and the Florida Fire Prevention Code as business or mercantilé, a fire official shall
enforce the wall fire-rating provisions for occupancy separation as defined in the Florida Building Code.

(16)(a) As used in this subsection, the term:

1. “Agricultural pole barn” means a nonresidential farm building in which 70 percent or more of the perimeter
walls are permanently open and allow free ingress and egress.

2. “Nonresidential farm building” has the same meaning as provided in s. 604,50.

(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of law:

1. A nonresidential farm building in which the occupancy is limited by the property owner to no more than 35
persons is exempt from the Florida Fire Prevention Code, including the national codes and Life Safety Code

incorporated by reference.
2. An agricultural pole barn is exempt from the Florida Fire Prevention Code, including the national codes and

the Life Safety Code incorporated by reference.

3. Except for an agricultural pole barn, a structure on a farm, as defined in s. 823.14(3)(a), which is used by an
owner for agritourism activity, as defined in s. 570.86, for which the owner receives consideration must be
classified in one of the following classes:

a. Class 1: A nonresidential farm building that is used by the owner 12 or fewer times per year for agritourism
activity with up to 100 persons occupying the structure at one time. A structure in this class is subject to annual
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inspection for classification by the local authority having jurisdiction. This class is not subject to the Florida Fire
Prevention Code but is subject to rules adopted by the State Fire Marshal pursuant to this section.

b. Class 2: A nonresidential farm building that is used by the owner for agritourism activity with up to 300
persons occupying the structure at one time. A structure in this class is subject to annual inspection for
classification by the local authority having jurisdiction. This class is not subject to the Florida Fire Prevention Code
but is subject to rules adopted by the State Fire Marshal pursuant to this section. .

c. Class 3: A structure or facility that is used primarily for housing, sheltering, or otherwise accommodating
members of the general public. A structure or facility in this class is subject to annual inspection for classification
by the local authority having jurisdiction. This class is subject to the Florida Fire Prevention Code.

(c) The State Fire Marshal shall adopt rules to administer this section, including, but not limited to:

1. The use of alternative lifesafety and fire prevention standards for structures in Classes 1 and 2;

2. Notification and inspection requirements for structures in Classes 1 and 2;

3. The application of the Florida Fire Prevention Code for structures in Class 3; and

4. Any other standards or rules deemed necessary in order to facilitate the use of structures for agritourism

activities.
(17) A tent up to 900 square feet is exempt from the Florida Fire Prevention Code, including the national codes -

incorporated by reference.

(18) The authority having jurisdiction shall determine the minimum radio signal strength for fire department
communications in all new high-rise and existing high-rise buildings. Existing buildings are not required to comply
with minimum radio strength for fire department communications and two-way radio system enhancement
communications as required by the Florida Fire Prevention Code until January 1, 2022. However, by December 31,
2019, an existing building that is not in'comptiance with the requirements for minimum radio strength for fire
department communications must apply for an appropriate permit for the required installation with the local
government agency having jurisdiction and must demonstrate that the building will become compliant by January
1, 2022. Existing apartment buildings are not required to comply until January 1, 2025. However, existing
apartment buildings are required to apply for the appropriate permit for the required communications installation
by December 31, 2022.

(19) Areas of refuge shall be provided if required by the Florida Building Code, Accessibility. Required portions

of an area of refuge shall be accessible from the space they serve by an accessible means of egress.

History.—s. 58, ch. 98-287; ss. 102, 103, ch. 2000-141; s. 43, ch. 2001-186; s. 123, ch. 2005-2; s. 23, ch. 2005-147; s. 7, ch. 2006-65; s.
4, ch. 2008-192; s. 6, ch. 2010-174; s. 47, ch. 2010-176; s. 1, ch.-2011-196; s. 17, ch. 2012-13; s. 54, ch. 2013-14; 5. 1, ch. 2013-134; s, 21,
ch. 2013-183; s. 27, ch. 2014-154; s. 1, ch. 2016-83; 5. 27, ch. 2016-129.

Note.—Former s. 633.0215.
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633.204 Florida Fire Code Advisory Council.— _

(1) There is created within the department the Florida Fire Code Advisory Council with 11 members appointed
by the State Fire Marshal. The council shall advise and recommend to the State Fire Marshal changes to and
interpretation of the uniform firesafety standards adopted under s. 633.206, the Florida Fire Prevention Code, and
those portions of the Florida Fire Prevention Code that have the effect of conflicting with building construction
standards that are adopted pursuant to ss. 633.202 and 633.206. The members of the council shall represent the
following groups and professions: ' »

(a) One member shall be the State Fire Marshal, or his or her designated appointee who shall be an
administrative employee of the marshal.

(b) One member shall be an administrative officer from a fire department representing a municipality, a
county, or a special district selected from a list of persons submitted by the Florida Fire Chiefs Association.

(c) One member shall be an architect licensed in the state selected from a list of persons submitted by the
Florida Association/American Institute of Architects.

(d) One member shall be an engineer with fire protection design experience registered to practice in the state
selected from a list of persons submitted by the Florida Engineering Society, ’

(e) One member shall be an administrative officer from a building department of a county or municipality
selected from a list of persons submitted by the Building Officials Association of Florida.

(f) One member shall be a contractor licensed in the state selected from a list submitted by the Florida Home

Builders Association,
(2) One member shall be a Florida firefighter selected from a list submitted by the Florida Professional

- Firefighters’ Association.
(h) One member shall be a Florida certified firesafety inspector selected from a list submitted by the Florida

Fire Marshals’ and Inspectors’ Association.

(i) One member shall be selected from a list submitted by the Department of Education.

(i) One member shall be selected from a list submitted by the Chancellor of the State University System.

(k) One member shall be representative of the general public.

(2) The State Fire Marshal and the Florida Building Commission shall coordinate efforts to provide consistency
between the Florida Building Code and the Florida Fire Prevention Code.

(3) The council shall meet at least semiannually to advise the State Fire Marshal’s Office on matters subject to

this section.
(4) The council may review proposed changes to the Florida Fire Prevention Code and the uniform firesafety

standards pursuant to s. §33.202(4).
(5) The council and Florida Building Commission shall cooperate through joint representation and coordination

of codes and standards to resolve conflicts in their development, updating, and interpretation.
- {6) Each appointee shall serve a 4-year term. No member shall serve mare than two consecutive terms. A

member of the council may not be paid a salary as such member, but each shall receive travel and expense
reimbursement as provided in s. 112.061.
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History.—ss. 17, 18, ch. 87-287; 5. 24, ch. 88-149; ss. 4, 5, ch. 91-429; 5. 451, ch. 97-101; s. 61, ch. 98-287; 5. 50, ch. 99-3; s. 106, ch.
2000-141; s. 58, ch. 2010-176; s. 22, ch. 2013-183.

Note.—Former s. 633.72.
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633.206 Uniform firesafety standards—The Legislature hereby determines that to protect the public health,
safety, and welfare it is necessary to provide for firesafety standards governing the construction and utilization of
certain buildings and structures. The Legislature further determines that certain buildings or structures, due to
their specialized use or to the special characteristics of the person utilizing or occupying these buildings or
structures, should be subject to firesafety standards reflecting these special needs as may be appropriate.

(1) The department shall establish uniform firesafety standards that apply to:

(a) All new, existing, and proposed state-owned and state-leased buildings.

(b) All new, existing, and proposed hospitals, nursing homes, assisted living facilities, adult family-care homes,
correctional facilities, public schools, transient public lodging establishments, public food service establishments,
elevators, migrant labor camps, mobile home parks, lodging parks, recreational vehicle parks, recreational camps,
residential and nonresidential child care facilities, facilities for the developmentally disabled, motion picture and
television special effects productions, tunnels, and self-service gasoline stations, of which standards the State Fire
Marshal is the final administrative interpreting authority.

In the event there is a dispute between the owners of the buildings specified in paragraph (b) and a local authority
requiring a more stringent uniform firesafety standard for sprinkler systems, the State Fire Marshal shall be the
final administrative interpreting authority and the State Fire Marshal’s interpretation regarding the uniform
firesafety standards shall be considered final agency action.

(2)(a) With respect to the uniform firesafety standards, the department shall develop uniform statewide
standards which are reasonably prudent with respect to protecting life, safety, and property and which take into
consideration the characteristics of the people utilizing the subject buildings and structures and other hazards.
associated with the subject buildings and structures throughout the state.

(b) A local authority may not require more stringent uniform firesafety standards with respect to buildings or
structures subject to such standards except as provided in paragraph (c). A local authority may, on a case-by-case
basis, in order to meet special situations arising from historic, geographic, or unusual conditions, with respect to a
building or structure which is subject to the uniform firesafety standards, authorize equivalent alternative
standards for such building or structure; however, the alternative requirements shall not result in a level of
protection to life, safety, or property less stringent than the applicable uniform firesafety standards. All such local
authorities shall enforce, within their firesafety jurisdiction, the uniform firesafety standards for those buildings
specified in paragraph (1)(b) and the minimum firesafety standards adopted pursuant to s. 394.879.

(c) Alocal authority may require more stringent uniform firesafety standards for sprinkler systems in buildings
specified in paragraph (b), for which the construction contract is let after January 1, 1994, if the following
conditions are met: ,

1. The local authority has adopted, by ordinance, a fire service facilities and operation plan that outlines goals
and objectives for related equipment, personnel, and capital improvement needs of the local authority for the
next 5 years.

2. The local authority has adopted, by ordinance, a provision requiring proportionate reductions in, or rebate
or waivers of, impact or other fees or assessments levied on buildings that are built or modified in compliance with
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the more stringent sprinkler standards.

3. The local authority has adopted, by ordinance, a plan that requires buildings specified in paragraph (b) to be
equipped with an automatic sprinkler system installed in compliance with the provisions prescribed in standards as
established py the National Fire Protection Association and adopted by the State Fire Marshal.

In the event there is a dispute between the owners of the buildings specified in paragraph (b) and a local authority
requiring a more stringent uniform firesafety standard for"sprinkler systems, the State Fire Marshal shall be the
final administrative interpreting authority and the State Fire Marshal’s interpretation regarding the uniform-
firesafety standards shall be considered final agency action.

(3) In establishing the uniform firesafety standards and the minimum firesafety standards, as required by s.
394.879, the department shall consider types of construction materials and their flame spread and smoke
characteristics, occupancy levels, means of egress, special hazard protection, smoke barriers, interior finish, and
fire protection systems or equipment and occupancy features necessary to minimize danger to life from fire, _
smoke, fumes, or panic. In considering these factors, the department shall develop minimum standards which are
reasonably prudent with respect to protecting life, safety, and property.

(4)(a) Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, each nursing home licensed under part Il of
chapter 400 shall be protected throughout by an approved, supervised automatic sprinkler system in accordance
with s. 9 of National Fire Protection Association, inc., Life Safety Code, no later thah December 31, 2010.

(b) The division may grant up to two 1-year extensions of the time limits for compliance in subparagraph (a)2.
if the division determines that the nursing home has been prevented from complying for reasons beyond its
control.

(c) The division is authorized to adopt any rule necessary for the implementation and enforcement of this
subsection. The division shall enforce this subsection in accordance with the provisions of this chapter, and any
nursing home licensed under part Il of chapter 400 that is in violation of this subsection may be subject to
administrative sanctions by the division pursuant to this chapter. -

(d) Adjustments shall be made to the provider Medicaid rate to allow reimbursement over a 5-year period for

Medicaid’s portion of the costs incurred to meet the requirements of this subsection. Funding for this adjustment
shall come from existing nursing home appropriations. ’

History.—s. 5, ch. 87-287; s. 2, ch. 90-359; s. 29, ch. 93-150; s. 2, ch. 93-276; s. 44, ch. 95-210; s. 7, ch. 95-379; s. 4, ch. 99-179; s. 3,
ch. 2002-287; s. 1392, ch. 2003-261; s. 2, ch. 2005-234; s. 2, ch. 2008-192; s. 23, ch. 2013-183.

Note.—Former s. 633.022.
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633.208 Minimum firesafety standards.—

(1) The Florida Fire Prevention Code adopted by the State Fire Marshal, which shall operate in conjunction with
the Florida Building Code, shall be deemed adopted by each municipality, county, and special district with
firesafety responsibilities. The minimum firesafety codes do not apply to buildings and structures subject to the
uniform firesafety standards under s. 633.206 and buildings and structures subject to the minimum firesafety
standards adopted pursuant to s. 394.879.

(2) Pursuant to subsection (1), each municipality, county, and special district with firesafety responsibilities
shall enforce the Florida Fire Prevention Code as the minimum firesafety code required by this section.

(3) Such code shall be a minimum code, and a municipality, county, or special district with firesafety
responsibilities may adopt more stringent firesafety standards, subject to the requirements of this subsection. Such
county, municipality, or special district may establish alternative requirements to those requirements which are
required under the minimuim firesafety standards on a case-by-case basis, in order to meet special situations
arising from historic, geographic, or unusual conditions, if the alternative requirements result in a level of
protection to life, safety, or property equal to or greater than the applicable minimum firesafety standards. For
the purpose of this subsection, the term “historic” means that the building or structure is listed on the National
Register of Historic Places of the United States Department of the Interior.

(a) The local governing body shall determine, following a public hearing which has been advertised in a
newspaper of general circulation at least 10 days'before the hearing, if there is a need to strengthen the
requirements of the minimum firesafety code adopted by such governing body. The determination must be based
upon a review of local conditions by the local governing body, which review demonstrates that local conditions
justify more stringent requirements than those specified in the minimum firesafety code for the protection of life
and property or justify requirements that meet special situations arising from historic, geographic, or unusual

conditions.
(b) Such additional requirements may not be discriminatory as to materials, products, or construction

techniques of demonstrated capabilities.

(c) Paragraphs (a) and (b) apply solely to the local enforcing agency’s adoption of requirements more stringent
than those specified in the Florida Fire Prevention Code and the Life Safety Code that have the effect of amending
building construction standards. Upon request, the enforcing agency must provide a person making application for
a building permit, or any state agency or board with construction-related regulation responsibilities, a listing of all

such requirements and codes.
(d) A local government which adopts amendments to the minimum firesafety code must provide a procedure by

which the validity of such amendments may be challenged by any substantially affected party to test the

amendment’s compliance with this section.

1. Unless the local government agrees to stay enforcement of the amendment, or other good cause is shown,
the challenging party shall be entitled to a hearing on the challenge within 45 days.

2. For purposes of such challenge, the burden of proof shall be on the challenging party, but the amendment

may not be presumed to be valid or invalid.
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This subsection gives local government the authority to establish firesafety codes that exceed the Florida Fire
Prevention Code adopted by the State Fire Marshal. The Legislature intends that local government give proper
public notice and hold public hearings before adopting more stringent firesafety codes. A substantially affected
person may appeal, to the department, the local government’s resolution of the challenge, and the department
shall determine if the amendment complies with this section. Actions of the department are subject to judicial
review pursuant to s. 120.68. The department shall consider reports of the Florida Building Commission, pursuant
to part IV of chapter 553, when evaluating building code enforcement.

(4) The new building or structure provisions enumerated within the Florida Fire Prevention Code adopted
pursuant to this section shall apply only to buildings or structures for which the building permit is issued on or after
the effective date of the current edition of the Florida Fire Prevention Code. Subject to subsection (5), the
existing building or structure provisions enumerated within the firesafety code adopted pursuant to this section
shall apply to buildings or structures for which the building permit was issued or the building or structure was
constructed before the effective date of this act.

(5) With regard to existing buildings, the Legislature recognizes that it is not always practical to apply any or
all of the provisions of the Florida Fire Prevention Code and that physical limitations may require disproportionate
effort or expense with little increase in fire or life safety. Before applying the minimum firesafety code to an
existing building, the local fire official shall determine whether a threat to lifesafety or property exists. If a threat
to lifesafety or property exists, the fire official shall apply the applicable firesafety code for existing buildings to
the extent practical to ensure a reasonable degree of lifesafety and safety of property or shall fashion a reasonable
alternative that affords an equivalent degree of lifesafety and safety of property. The local fire official may
consider the fire safety evaluation systems found in NFPA 101A: Guide on Alternative Approaches to Life Safety,

“adopted by the State Fire Marshal, as acceptable systems for the identification of low-cost, reasonable
alternatives. It is acceptable to use the Fire Safety Evaluation System for Board and Care Facilities using prompt
evacuation capabilities parameter values on existing residential high-rise buildings. The decision of the local fire
official may be appealed to the local administrative board described in s. 553.73.

(6) Nothing herein shall preclude a municipality, county, or special district from requiring a structure to be
maintained in accordance with the Florida Fire Prevention Code.

(7) Electrically operated singte station smoke detectors required for residential buildings are not required to be
interconnected within individual living units in all buildings having direct access to the outside from each living
unit and having three stories or less. This subsection does not apply to any residential building required to have a
manual or an automatic fire alarm system.

(8)(a) The provisions of the Life Safety Code, as contained in the Florida Fire Prevention Code, do not apply to
one-family and two-family dwellings. However, fire sprinkler protection may be permitted by local government in
lieu of other fire protection-related development requirements for such structures. While local governments may
adopt fire sprinkler requirements for one-family and two-family dwellings under this subsection, it is the intent of
the Legislature that the economic consequences of the fire sprinkler mandate on home owners be studied before
the enactment of such a requirement. After the effective date of this act, any local government that desires to
adopt a fire sprinkler requirement on one-family or twb-family dwellings must prepare an economic cost and
benefit report that analyzes the application of fire sprinklers to one-family or two-family dwellings or any proposed
residential subdivision. The report must consider the tradeoffs and specific cost savings and benefits of fire
sprinklers for future owners of property. The report must include an assessment of the cost savings from any
reduced or eliminated impact fees if applicable, the reduction in special fire district tax, insurance fees, and other
taxes or fees imposed, and the waiver of certain infrastructure requirements including the reduction of roadway
widths, the reduction of water line sizes, increased fire hydrant spacing, increased dead-end roadway length, and
a reduction in cul-de-sac sizes relative to the costs from fire sprinkling. A failure to prepare an economic report
shall result in the invalidation of the fire sprinkler requirement to any one-family or two-family dwelling or any
proposed subdivision. In addition, a local jurisdiction or utility may not charge any additional fee, above what is
charged to a non-fire sprinklered dwelling, on the basis that a one-family or two-family dwelling unit is protected

by a fire sprinkler system.
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(b)1. A county, municipality, special taxing district, public utility, or private utility may not require an impact
fee or payment for a separate water connection for a one-family or two-family dwelling fire sprinkler system if the
capacity required is hydraulically available at the property line. The accountholder of the one-family or two-family
dwelling must notify the county, municipality, special district, public utility, or private utility of the installation of
the separate water connection in the applicable permit, The separate water connection may only be used for one-
family or two-family dwelling fire sprinkler systems and if used for other purposes, full base and volume charges
may be applied.

2. A county, municipality, special district, public utility, or private utility may not charge a water or sewer
rate to a one-family or two-family dwelling that requires a larger water meter solely due to the installation of fire
sprinklers above that which is charged to a one-family and two-family dwelling with a base meter. If the
installation of fire sprinklers in a one-family or two- fémily dwelling requires the installation of a larger water
meter, only the difference in actual cost between the base water meter and the larger water meter may be
charged by the water utility provider.

(9) Before imposing a fire sprinkler requirement on any one- or two-family dwelling, a local government must
provide the owner of any one- or two-family dwelling a letter documenting specific infrastructure or other tax or
fee allowances and waivers that are listed in but not limited to those described in subsection (8) for the dwelling.
The documentation must show that the cost savings reasonably approximate the cost of the purchase and
installation of a fire protection system.

(10) Notwithstanding subsection (8), a property owner may not be required to install fire sprinklers in any
residential property based upon the use of such property as a rental property or any change in or reclassification of

the property’s primary use to a rental property.

History.—s. 6, ch. 87-287; s. 1, ch. 88-362; s. 8, ch. 91-110; s. 2, ch. 91-189; s. 8, ch. 95-379; 5. 59, ch. 98-287; ss. 104, 105, ch. 2000-
141; s. 3, ch. 2001-64; s. 1393, ch. 2003-261; s. 17, ch. 2005-147; s. 157, ch. 2008-4; s. 2, ch. 2010-99; s. 49, ch. 2010-176; s. 24, ch.
2013-183; s. 2, ch. 2016-83; s. 28, ch. 2016-129; s. 22, ch. 2016-132; 5. 14, ch. 2017-149.

Note.—Former s. 633.025.
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The 2017 Florida Statutes

Title XXXVII Chapter 633 View Entire Chapter
INSURANCE FIRE PREVENTION AND CONTROL

633.212 Legislative intent; informal interpretations of the Florida Fire Prevention Code.—It is the intent
of the Legislature that the Florida Fire Prevention Code be interpreted by fire officials and local enforcement
agencies in a manner that reasonably and cost-effectively protects the public safety, health, and welfare; ensures
uniform interpretations throughout this state; and provides just and expeditious processes for resolving disputes
regarding such interpretations. It is the further intent of the Legislature that such processes provide for the
expeditious resolution of the issues presented and that the resulting interpretation of such issues be published on
the website of the division. ‘

(1) The division shall by rule establish an informal process of rendering nonbinding interpretations of the
Florida Fire Prevention Code. The division may contract with and refer interpretive issues to a third party, selected
based upon cost effectiveness, quality of services to be performed, and other performance-based criteria, which
has experience in interpreting and enforcing the Florida Fire Prevention Code. It is the intent of the Legislature
that the division establish a Fire Code Interpretation Committee composed of seven persons and seven alternates,
equally representing each area of the state, to which a party can pose questions regarding the interpretation of
the Florida Fire Prevention Code provisions. The alternate member may respond to a nonbinding interpretation if a
member is unable to respond. ,

(2) Each member and alternate member of the Fire Code Interpretation Committee must be certified as a -
firesafety inspector pursuant to s. 633,216(2) and must have a minimum of 5 years of experience interpreting and
enforcing the Florida Fire Prevention Code. Each member and alternate member must be approved by the division
and deemed by the division to have met these requirements for at least 30 days before participating in a review of
a nonbinding interpretation. ‘

(3) Each nonbinding interpretation of code provisions must be provided within 15 business days after receipt of
a request for interpretation. The response period established in this subsection may be waived only with the
written consent of the party requesting the nonbinding interpretation and the division. Nonbinding interpretations
shall be advisory only and nonbinding on the parties or the State Fire Marshal.

(4) In order to administer this section, the division shall charge a fee for nonbinding interpretations. The fee
may not exceed $150 for each request for a review or interpretation. The division may authorize payment of fees
directly to the nonprofit organization under contract pursuant to subsection (1).

(5) A party requesting a nonbinding interpretation who disagrees with the interpretation issued under this
section may apply for a declaratory statement from the State Fire Marshal pursuant to s. 633.104(6).

(6) The division shall issue or cause to be issued a nonbinding interpretation of the Florida Fire Prevention Code
pursuant to this section when requested to do so upon submission of a petition by a fire official or by the owner or
owner’s representative or the contractor or contractor’s representative of a project in dispute. The division shall
adopt a petition form by rule, and the petition form must be published on the State Fire Marshal’s website. The

form must, at a minimum, require:
(a) The name and address of the local fire official, including the address of the county, municipality, or special

district.
(b) The name and address of the owner or owner’s representative or the contractor or contractor’s

representative.
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(c) A statement of the specific sections of the Florida Fire Prevention Code being interpreted by the local fire
official.

(d) An explanation of how the petitioner’s substantial interests are being affected by the local interpretation
of the Florida Fire Prevention Code. ,

(e) A statement of the interpretation of the specific sections of the Florida Fire Prevention Code by the local
fire official.

(f) A statement of the interpretation that the petitioner contends should be given to the specific sections of
the Florida Fire Prevention Code and a statement supporting the petitioner’s interpretation.

(2) Asingle question that is capable of being answered with a “yes” or “no” response. :

(7) Upon receipt of a petition that meets the requirements of subsection (6), the division shall immediately
provide copies of the petition to the Fire Code Interpretation Committee, and shall publish the petition and any
response submitted by the local fire official on the State Fire Marshal’s website.

(8) The committee shall conduct proceedings as necessary to resolve the issues and give due regard to the
petition, the facts of the matter at issue, specific code sections cited, and any statutory implications affecting the
Florida Fire Prevention Code. The committee shall issue an interpretation regarding the provisions of the Florida
Fire Prevention Code within 15 days after the filing of a petition. The committee shall issue an interpretation
based upon the Florida Fire Prevention Code or, if the code is ambiguous, the intent of the code..The committee’s
interpretation shall be provided to the petitioner and shall include a notice that if the petitioner disagrees with
the interpretation, the petitioner may file a request for a declaratory statement by the State Fire Marshal under s.
633.104(6). The committee’s interpretation shall be provided to the State Fire Marshal, and the division shall

publish the declaratory statement on the State Fire Marshal’s website andin the Florida Administrative Register.
History.—s. 18, ch. 2005-147; s. 93, ch. 2006-1; s. 50, ch. 2010-176; s. 55, ch. 2013-14; s. 25, ch. 2013-183; s, 28, ch. 2014-154.
Note.—Former s. 633.026. ’
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Title XXXVl Chapter 633 View Entire Chapter
INSURANCE FIRE PREVENTION AND CONTROL

633.214  Ordinances relating to firesafety; definitions; penalties.—

N As used in this section:

(@) A “firesafety inspector” is an individual certified by the division, officially assigned the duties of conducting
firesafety inspections of buildings and facilities on a recurring or regular basis, investigating civil infractions
relating to firesafety, and issuing citations pursuant to this section on behalf of the state or any county,

- municipality, or special district with firesafety responsibilities. ,

(b) “Citation” means a written notice, issued only after a written warning has been previously issued anda
minimum time period of 45 days, except for major structural changes, which may be corrected within an extended
adequate period of tifne, from the date of the issuance of the warning whereby the party warned may correct the
alleged violation, issued to a person by a firesafety inspector, that the firesafety inspector has probable cause to
believe that the person has committed a civil infraction in violation of a duly enacted ordinance and that the
county court will hear the charge. The citation must contain:

1. The date and time of issuance.

The name and address of the person. _

The date and time the civil infraction was committed.

The facts constituting probable cause.

The Florida Fire Prevention Code ordinance violated.

The name and authority of the firesafety inspector.

The procedure for the person to follow in order to pay the civil penalty or to contest the citation.
The applicable civil penalty if the person elects to contest the citation.

The applicable civil penalty if the person elects not to contest the citation.

10. A conspicuous statement that if the person fails to pay the civil penalty within the time allowed or fails to
appear in court to contest the citation, then she or he shall be deemed to have waived her or his right to contest
the citation and that, in such case, judgment may be entered against the person for an amount up to the maximum
civil penalty. ' i

(c) “Ordinance” means any ordinance enacted by the governing body of a county or municipality that is a civil
infraction relating to firesafety codes. ‘

(2) A county or municipality that has created a code enforcement board or special magistrate system pursuant
to chapter 162 may enforce firesafety code violations as provided in chapter 162. The governing body of a county
or municipality which has not created a code enforcement board or special magistrate system for firesafety under
chapter 162 may enact ordinances relating to firesafety codes, which ordinances shall provide:

(a) That a violation of such an ordinance is a civil infraction.

(b) A maximum civil penalty not to exceed $500. _

(c) Acivil penalty of less than the maximum civil penalty if the person who has committed the civil infraction
does not contest the citation.

(d) For the issuance of a citation by an officer who has probable cause to believe that a person has committed
a violation of an ordinance relating to firesafety or the Florida Fire Prevention Code.

(e) For the contesting of a citation in the county court.

P NSO WwN
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(f)  Such procedures and provisions necessary to implement any ordinances enacted under the authority of this
section.

(3) A person who willfully refuses to sign and accept a citation issued by a firesafety inspector commits a
misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 ors. 775.083.

(4) This section does not prevent any county, municipality, or special district from enacting any ordinance
relating to firesafety codes which is identical to this chapter or any state law, except as to penalty; however, a
county, municipal, or special district ordinance relating to firesafety codes may not conflict with this chapter or

any other state law. :
History.—s. 1, ch. 88-222; s. 156, ch. 91-224; 5. 9, ch. 95-379; s, 422, ch. 97-102; s. 1394, ch. 2003-261; s. 95, ch, 2004-11; s. 26, ch.
2013-183. '
Note.—Former s, 633.052.
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INSURANCE FIRE PREVENTION AND CONTROL

633.216 Inspection of buildings and equipment; orders; firesafety inspection training requirements;
certification; disciplinary action.—The State Fire Marshal and her or his agents or persons authorized to enforce -
laws and rules of the State Fire Marshal shall, at any reasonable hour, when the State Fire Marshal has reasonable
cause to believe that a violation of this chapter or s. 509.215, of a rule adopted thereunder, or a minimum
firesafety code adopted by the State Fire Marshal or a local authority, may exist, inspect any and all buildings and
structures which are subject to the requirements of this chapter or s. 509.215 and rules adopted thereunder. The
authority to inspect shall extend to all equipment, vehicles, and chemicals which are located on or within the
premises of any such building or structure.

(1) Each county, municipality, and special district that has firesafety enforcement responsibilities shall employ
or contract with a firesafety inspector. Except as provided in s. 633.312(2) and (3), the firesafety inspector must
conduct all firesafety inspections that are required by law. The governing body of a county, municipality, or
special district that has firesafety enforcement responsibilities may provide a schedule of fees to pay only the costs
of inspections conducted pursuant to this subsection and related administrative expenses. Two or more counties,
municipalities, or special districts that have firesafety enforcement responsibilities may jointly employ or contract
with a firesafety inspector.

(2) Except as provided in s. 633.312(2), every firesafety inspection conducted pursuant to state or local
firesafety requirements shall be by a person certified as having met the inspection training requirements set by the
State Fire Marshal. Such person shall meet the requirements of s. 633. 412(1) -(4), and:

(@) Have satisfactorily completed the firesafety inspector certification examination as prescnbed by division

rule; and
(b)1.  Have satisfactorily completed, as determined by division rule, a firesafety inspector training program of

at least 200 hours established by the department and administered by education or training providers approved by
the department for the purpose of providing basic certification training for firesafety inspectors; or

2. Have received training in another state which is determined by the division to be at least equivalent to that
required by the department for approved firesafety inspector education and training programs in this state.

(3) A firefighter certified pursuant to s. 633.408 may conduct firesafety inspections, under the supervision of a
certified flresafety inspector, while on duty as a member of a fire department company conducting inservice
firesafety inspections without being certified as a firesafety inspector, if such firefighter has satisfactorily
completed an inservice fire department company inspector training program of at least 24 hours’ duration as
provided by rule of the department.

(4) Every firesafety inspector certificate is valid for a period of 4 years from the date of issuance. Renewal of
certification is subject to the affected person’s completing proper application for renewal and meeting all of the
requirements for renewal as established under this chapter or by rule adopted under this chapter, which must
include completion of at least 54 hours during the preceding 4-year period of continuing education as required by
the rule of the department or, in lieu thereof, successful passage of an examination as established by the

department.
(5) A previously certified firesafety inspector whose certification has lapsed for 8 years or more must repeat

the fire safety inspector training as specified by the division.
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(6) The State Fire Marshal may deny, refuse to renew, suspend, or revoke the certificate of a firesafety
inspector if the State Fire Marshal finds that any of the following grounds exist:

(a) Any cause for which issuance of a certificate could have been refused had it then existed and been known
to the division,

(b) Violation of this chapter or any rule or order of the State Fire Marshal.

(c) Falsification of records relating to the certificate.

(d) Failure to meet any of the renewal requirements.

(e) Making or filing a report or record that the certificateholder knows to be false, or knowingly inducing
another to file a false report or record, or knowingly failing to file a reportor record required by state or local
law, or knowingly impeding or obstructing such filing, or knowingly inducing another person to impede or obstruct
such filing.

(f) Failing to properly enforce applicable fire codes or permit requirements within this state which the
certificateholder knows are applicable by committing willful misconduct, gross negligence, gross misconduct,
repeated negligence, or negligence resulting in a significant danger to life or property.

(g) Accepting labor, services, or materials at no charge or at a noncompetitive rate from a person who
performs work that is under the enforcement authority of the certificateholder and who is not.an immediate family
member of the certificateholder. For the purpose of this paragraph, the term “immediate family member” means
a spouse, child, parent, sibling, grandparent, aunt, uncle, or first cousin of the person or the person’s spouse or a
person who resides in the primary residence of the certificateholder.

(7) The division and the Florida Building Code Administrators and Inspectors Board, established pursuant to s.
468.605, shall enter into a reciprocity agreement to facilitate joint recognition of continuing education
recertification hours for certificateholders licensed under s. 468 609 and firesafety inspectors certified under
subsection (2). '

(8) The State Fire Marshal shall develop by rule an advanced training and certification program for firesafety
inspectors having fire code management responsibilities. The program must be consistent with the appropriate
provisions of NFPA 1037, or similar standards adopted by the division, and establish minimum training, education,
and experience levels for firesafety inspectors having fire code management responsibilities.

(9) The department shall provide by rule for the certification of firesafety inspectors and fire code
administrators. ,

History.—s. 6, ch. 20671, 1941; s. 8, ch. 65-216; s. 4, ch. 67-78; ss. 13, 35, ch. 69-106; s. 3, ch. 70-299; s. 14, ch. 75-151; 5. 1, ch. 77-
174; s. 2, ch. 79-352; s. 1, ch. 81-205; s. 1, ch. 82-189; s. 4, ch. 84-243; 5. 9, ch. 87-287; 5.2, ch. 88-222; s. 3, ch. 88-362;'s. 4, ch. 93-
276; s. 11, ch. 95-379; s. 424, ch. 97-102; s. 1396, ch. 2003-261; 5. 9, ch. 2007-187; s. 1, ch. 2010-173; s. 52, ch. 2010-176; 5. 47, ch.
2011-4; s. 3, ch. 2011-79; s. 27, ch. 2013-183; s. 157, ch. 2014-17; s. 43, ch. 2017-3.

Note.~Former s. 633.06; s. 633.081.
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633.218 Inspections of state buildings and premises; tests of firesafety equipment; building plans to be
approved.—

(1)(a) It is the duty of the State Fire Marshal and her or his agents to inspect, or cause to be inspected, each
state-owned building on a recurring basis established by rule, and to ensure that high-hazard occupancies are
inspected at least annually, for the purpose of ascertaining and causing to be corrected any conditions liable to
cause fire or endanger life from fire and any violation of the firesafety standards for state-owned buildings, this
chapter, or the rules adopted pursuant hereto. The State Fire Marshal shall, within 7 days following an inspection,
submit a report of such inspection to the head of the state agency responsible for the building.

(b) Except as provided in s. 255.45, the department head is responsible for ensuring that deficiencies noted in
the inspection are corrected as soon as practicable.

(c) Each department shall, in its annual budget proposal, include requests for sufficient funds to correct any
firesafety deficiencies noted by the State Fire Marshal.

(d) Each department shall, in its annual budget proposal and for all proposals for new construction or
renovations to existing structures, include requests for sufficient funds to pay for any charges or fees imposed by
the State Fire Marshal for review of plans, renovations, occupancy, or inspections, whether recurring or high
hazard.

(e) For purposes of this section:

1.a. The term “high-hazard occupancy” means any building or structure:

(I) That contains combustible or explosive matter or flammable conditions dangerous to the safety of life or
property;

(I) At which persons receive educational instruction;

(i) At which persons reside, excluding private dwellings; or

(IV) Containing three or more floor levels.

b. Asused in this subparagraph, the phrase “building or structure”:

(h Includes, but is not limited to, all hospitals and residential health care facilities, nursing homes and other
adult care facilities, correctional or detention facilities, public schools, public lodging establishments, migrant
labor camps, residential child care facilities, and self-service gasoline stations,

(I) Does not include any residential condominium where the declaration of condominium or the bylaws provide
that the rental of units shall not be permitted for less than 90 days.

2. The term “state-owned building” includes private correctional facilities as defined under-s. 944.710(3).

(f) A state-owned building or state-leased building or space shall be identified through use of the United States
National Grid Coordinate System. , ‘

(2) The State Fire Marshal and her or his agents may conduct performance tests on any electronic fire warning
and smoke detection system, and any pressurized air-handling unit, in any state-owned building or state-leased
building or space on a recurring basis as provided in subsection (1). The State Fire Marshal and her or his agents
shall also ensure that fire drills are conducted in all high-hazard state-owned buildings or high-hazard state-leased

occupancies at least annually.
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(3) All construction of any new state-owned building or state-leased building or space or any renovation,
alteration, or change of occupancy of any existing, state-owned building or state-leased building or space must
comply with the uniform firesafety standards of the State Fire Marshal. ,

(a) For all new construction or renovation, alteration, or change of occupancy of state-leased space,
compliance with the uniform firesafety standards shall be determined by reviewing the plans for the proposed
construction or occupancy submitted by the lessor to the division for review and approval before commencement
of construction or occupancy, which review shall be completed within 10 working days after receipt of the plans by
the division. :

(b) The plans for all construction of any new, or renovation or alteration of any existing, state-owned building
are subject to the review and approval of the division for compliance with the uniform firesafety standards before
commencement of construction or change of occupancy, which review shall be completed within 30 calendar days
of receipt of the plans by the division. : |

(4) The division may inspect state-owned buildings and space and state-leased buildings and space as necessary
before occupancy or during construction, renovation, or alteration to ascertain compliance with the uniform
firesafety standards. Whenever the division determines by virtue of such inspection or by review of plans that
construction, renovation, or alteration of state-owned buildings and state-leased buildings or space is not in
compliance with the uniform firesafety standards, the division shall issue an order to cease construction,
renovation, or alteration, or to preclude occupancy, of a building until compliance is obtained, except for those
activities required to achieve such compliance.

(5) The division shall by rule provide a schedule of fees to pay for the costs of the inspeétiohs, whether
recurring or high hazard, any firesafety review or plans for proposed construction, renovations, or occupancy, and

related administrative expenses.
" History.—s. 15, ch. 75-151; s. 2, ch. 83-336; s. 2, ch. 84-143; s. 6, ch. 84-243; s, 19, ch. 89-233; s. 4, ch. 90-359; s, 5, ch. 91- 189 5. 5,
ch. 93-276; s. 12, ch. 95-379; s. 425, ch. 97-102; s. 60, ch. 98-287; s. 28 ch. 2013-183.

Note.—Former s. 633.085.
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INSURANCE FIRE PREVENTION AND CONTROL

- 633.222 Buildings with light-frame truss-type construction; notice requirements; enforcement.—

(1) The owner of any commercial or industrial structure, or any multiunit residential structure of three units or
more, that uses light-frame truss-type construction shall mark the structure with a sign or symbol approved by the
State Fire Marshal in a manner sufficient to warn persons conducting fire control and other emergency operations
of the existence of light-frame truss-type construction in the structure.,

(2) The State Fire Marshal shall adopt rules necessary to implement the provmons of this sectlon including,
but not limited to:

(a) The dimensions and color of such sign or symbol.

(b) The time within which commercial, industrial, and multiunit residential structures that use light-frame
truss-type construction shall be marked as required by this section.

(c) The location on each commercial, industrial, and multiunit residential structure that uses light-frame truss-
type construction where such sign or symbol must be posted.

(3) The State Fire Marshal, and local fire officials in accordance with s. 633.118, shall enforce this section. An
owner who fails to comply with the requirements of this section is subject to penalties as provided in s. 633.228.

History.—s. 5, ch. 2008-192; s. 29, ch. 2013-183.
Note.—Former s. 633.027.
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633.224 Automatic fire sprinkler systems for one-family dwellings, two-family dwellings, and mobile
homes.— ' |

(1) itis unlawful for a person to engage in the business or act in the capacity of a contractor of automatic fire
sprinkler systems for one-family dwellings, two-family dwellings, and mobile homes without having been duly
certified and holding a current certificate as a Contractor |, Contractor Il, or Contractor IV as defined in s. 633.102.

(2) A person who violates any provision of this section commits a mlsdemeanor of the second degree,

punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.
History.—ss. 4, 5, ch. 84-107; ss. 2, 4, ch, 87-181; s. 4, ch. 91-429; s. 3, ch. 98-104; s, 30, ch. 2013-183.
Note.—Former s. 633.60.
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633.226 Exemptions; farm outbuildings; standpipe systems installed by plumbing contractors.—

(1) This act does not apply to owners of property who are building or improving farm outbuildings.

(2) Alicensed plumbing contractor is not required to be certified under this act to install standpipe systems
and the following items connected thereto: overhead and underground water mains, fire hydrants and hydrant
mains, hose connections, tanks and pumps; including sprinkler heads in trash chutes and in trash rooms, having no

connection to an automatic sprinkler.
History.—s. 19, ch. 75-240; s. 3, ch. 76-168; s. 1, ch. 77-174; s. 1, ch. 77-457; s. 8, ch. 78-141; 5. 5, ch. 80-342; s. 2, ch. 81-318;s. 3,

ch. 84-107; ss. 1, 2, ch. 85-128; s, 4, ch. 91-429; s. 31, ch. 2013-183.
Note.—Former s. 633.557.
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Select Year: [2017 v || Go |

The 2017 Florida Statutes

Title XXXVH Chapter 633 View Entire Chapter
INSURANCE FIRE PREVENTION AND CONTROL

,633.228 Violations; orders to cease and desist, correct hazardous conditions, preclude occupancy, or
vacate; enforcement; penalties,—

(1) If it is determined by the department that a violation specified in this subsection exists, the State Fire
Marshal or her or his deputy may issue and deliver to the person committing the violation an order to cease and
desist from such violation, to correct any hazardous condition, to preclude occupancy of the affected building or
structure, or to vacate the premises of the affected building or structure. Such violations are:

(a) Except as set forth in paragraph (b), a violation of any provision of this chapter, of any rule adopted
pursuant thereto, of any applicable uniform firesafety standard adopted pursuant to s. 633.206 which is not
adequately addressed by any alternative requirements adopted on a local level or of any minimum firesafety
standard adopted pursuant to s. 394. 394.879.

(b) A substantial violation of an applicable minimum firesafety standard adopted pursuant to s. 633.208 which
is not reasonably addressed by any alternative requirement imposed at the local level, or an unreasonable
interpretation of an applicable minimum firesafety standard, and which violation or interpretation clearly

constitutes a danger to lifesafety.
(c) A building or structure which is in a dilapidated condition and as a result thereof creates a danger to life,

safety, or property.
(d) A building or structure which contains explosive matter or flammable liquids or gases constituting a danger

to life, safety, or property.

(2)(a) If, during the conduct of a firesafety inspection authorized by ss. 633.216 and 633.218, it is determined
that a violation described in this section exists which poses an immediate danger to the public health, safety, or
welfare, the State Fire Marshal may issue an order to vacate the building in question, which order shall be
immediately effective and shall be an immediate final order under s. 120.569(2)(n). With respect to a facility
under the jurisdiction of a district school board or community college board of trustees, the order to vacate shall
be issued jointly by the district superintendent or college president and the State Fire Marshal.

(b) The State Fire Marshal may seek an injunction in the circuit court of the county in which the building is

located to enforce an order issued pursuant to this subsection.
(3) A person who violates or fails to comply with any order under subsection (1) or subsection (2) commits a

misdemeanor, punishable as provided in s. 633.124.
History.—s. 10, ch. 65-216; s. 4, ch. 67-78; ss. 13, 35, ch. 69-106; s. 3, ch. 71-141; s. 21, ch. 78 95; 5. 7, ch. 84-243; 5. 11, ch, 87-287;

s. 14, ch. 95-379; s. 276, ch. 96-410; s. 1743, ch. 97-102; s, 49, ch. 99-3; 5. 1398, ch. 2003-261; 5. 32, ch, 2013-183.
Note.—Former s. 633.161.
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The 2017 Florida Statutes

Title XXXVII ' Chapter 633 View Entire Chapter
INSURANCE FIRE PREVENTION AND CONTROL

633.306 Requirements for installation, inspection, and maintenance of fire suppression equipment.—

(1) The requirements for installation of fire extinguishers and preengineered systems are as follows:

(a) Fire equipment dealers shall be licensed under s. 633.304. '

(b) Equipment supplied shall be listed by a nationally recognized testing laboratory, such as Underwriters
Laboratories, Inc., or Factory Mutual Laboratories, Inc. Equipment supplied for new installations or alterations of
existing systems must be currently listed as described in this section. The State Fire Marshal shall adopt by rule
procedures for determining whether a laboratory is nationally recognized, taking into account the laboratory’s
facilities, procedures, use of nationally recognized standards, and any other criteria reasonably calculated to reach
an informed determination.

(c) Equipment shall be installed in accordance with the applicable standards of the National Fire Protection
Association and the manufacturer’s drawings and specifications.

(d) Each piece of equipment supplied shall be guaranteed for a period of 1 year against defects in material or
operation. ' '

(e) The fire equipment dealer shall furnish the consumer with: the manufacturer's descriptive literature,
including the specifications and maintenance requirements as approved by the nationally recognized testing
taboratory; the operating instructions for all equipment installed; the mechanical drawings and specifications for
proper installation and use of equipment; and a diagram of the final installation, if applicable.

(2) Equipment shall be inspected, serviced, and maintained in accordance with the manufacturer’s

maintenance procedures and with the applicable National Fire Protection Association standards.
History.—s. 4, ch. 75-240; s. 2, ch. 80-342; s. 3, ch. 84-243; 5. 16, ch. 89-233; s. 4, ch. 91-189; 5. 3, ch. 98-170; s. 54, ch, 98-419; . 36,

ch. 2013-183.
Note.—Former s. 633.065.
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The 2017 Florida Statutes

Title XXXVII Chapter 633 View Entire Chapter
INSURANCE FIRE PREVENTION AND CONTROL

633.304 Fire suppression equipment; license to install or maintain.—

(1) It is unlawful for any organization or individual to engage in the business of servicing, repairing, recharging,
testing, marking, inspecting, installing, or hydrotesting any fire extinguisher or preengineered system in this state
except in conformity with this chapter. Each organization or individual that engages in such activity must possess a
valid and subsisting license issued by the division. All fire extinguishers and preengineered systems required by
statute or by rule must be serviced by an organization or individual licensed under this chapter. A licensee who
receives appropriate training shall not be prohibited by a manufacturer from servicing any particular brand of fire
extinguisher or preengineered system. The licensee is legally qualified to act for the business organization in all
matters connected with its business, and the licensee must supervise all activities undertaken by such business
organization. Each licensee shall maintain a specific business location. A further requirement, in the case of
multiple locations where such servicing or recharging is taking place, is that each licensee who maintains more
than one place of business where actual work is carried on must possess an additional license, as set forth in this
section; for each location, except that a licensed individual may not qualify for more than five locations. A
licensee is limited to a specific type of work performed depending upon the class of license held. Licenses are
required for the following:

(a) Class A: To service, recharge, repair, install, or inspect all types of fire extinguishers and to conduct
hydrostatic tests on all types of fire extinguishers.

(b) Class B: To service, recharge, repair, install, or inspect all types of fire extinguishers, including recharging
carbon dioxide units and conducting hydrostatic tests on all types of fire extinguishers, except carbon dioxide
units.

(c) Class C: To service, recharge, repair, install, or inspect all types of fire extinguishers, except recharging
carbon dioxide units, and to conduct hydrostatic tests on all types of fire extinguishers, except carbon dioxide
units.

(d) Class D: To service, repair, recharge, hydrotest, install, or inspect all types of preengineered fire

extinguishing systems.

Any fire equipment dealer licensed pursuant to this subsection who does not want to engage in the business of
servicing, inspecting, recharging, repairing, hydrotesting, or installing halon equipment must file an affidavit on a
form provided by the division so stating. Licenses will be issued by the division to show the work authorized
thereunder. It is unlawful, unlicensed activity for a person or firm to falsely hold himself or herself or a business
organization out to perform any service, inspection, recharge, repair, hydrotest, or installation except as
specifically described in the license. A fire equipment dealer licensed pursuant to this subsection who wishes to
withdraw a previously filed halon equipment exemption affidavit and engage in the business of servicing,
inspecting, recharging, repairing, hydrotesting, or installing halon equipment must submit a written statement
requesting the withdrawal to the division. The dealer must also submit to an inspection by the State Fire Marshal
or her or his designee in order to determine that the dealer possesses the equipment required to service, inspect,
recharge, repair, hydrotest, or install halon equipment.
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(2) A person who holds a valid fire equipment dealer license may maintain such license in an inactive status
during which time he or she may not engage in any work under the definition of the license held. An inactive status
license shall be void after 4 years or when the license is renewed, whichever comes first. An inactive status license
may not be reactivated unless the continuing education requirements of this chapter have been fulfilled.

(3) Each individual actually performing the work of servicing, recharging, repairing, hydrotesting, installing,
testing, or inspecting fire extinguishers or preengineered systems must possess a valid and subsisting permit issued
by the division. Permittees are limited as to specific type of work performed to allow work no more extensive than
the class of license held by the licensee under whom the permittee is working. Permits will be issued by the
division as follows:

(a) Portable permit: “Portable permittee” means a person who is limited to performing work no more
extensive than the employing licensee in the servicing, recharging, repairing, installing, or inspecting all types of
portable fire extinguishers. _

(b) Preengineered permit: “Preengineered permittee” means a person who is limited to the servicing,
recharging, repairing, installing, or inspecting of all types of preengineered fire extinguishing systems.

Any fire equipment permittee licensed pursuant to this subsection who does not want to engage in servicing,
inspecting, recharging, repairing, hydrotesting, or installing halon equipment must file an affidavit on a form
provided by the division so stating. Permits will be issued by the division to show the work authorized thereunder.
It is unlawful, unlicensed activity for a person or firm to falsely hold himself or herself out to perform any service,
inspection, recharge, repair, hydrotest, or installation except as specifically described in the permit.

(4)(a) Such licenses and permits shall be issued by the division for 2 years beginning January 1, 2000, and each
2-year period thereafter and expiring December 31 of the second year. All licenses or permits issued will expire on
December 31 of each odd-numbered year. The failure to renew a license or permit by December 31 of the second
year will cause the license or permit to become inoperative. The holder of an inoperative license or permit may
not engage in any activities for which a license or permit is required by this section. A license or permit whichis
inoperative because of the failure to renew it shall be restored upon payment of the applicable fee plus a penalty
eq‘ual to the applicable fee, if the application for renewal is filed no later than the following March 31. If the
application for restoration is not made before the March 31st deadline, the fee for restoration shall be equal to the
original application fee and the penalty provided for herein, and, in addition, the State Fire Marshal shall réquire
reexamination of the applicant. The fee for a license or permit issued for 1 year or less shall be prorated at 50
percent of the applicable fee for a biennial license or permit.

(b) After initial licensure, each licensee or permittee must successfully complete a course or courses of
continuing education for fire equipment technicians of at least 16 hours. A license or permit may not be renewed
unless the licensee or permittee produces documentation of the completion of at least 16 hours of continuing
education for fire equipment technicians during the biennial licensure period. A person who is both a licensee and
a permittee shall be required to complete 16 hours of continuing education during each renewal period. Each
licensee shall ensure that all permittees in his or her employment meet their continuing education requirements.
The State Fire Marshal shall adopt rules describing the continuing education requirements and shall have the
authority upon reasonable belief, to audit a fire equipment dealer to determine compliance with continuing
education requirements. _

(c) The forms of such licenses and permits and applications therefor shall be prescribed by the State Fire
Marshal; in addition to such other information and data as that officer determines is appropriate and required for
such forms, there shall be included in such forms the following matters. Each such application must be in such
form as to provide that the data and other information set forth therein shall be sworn to by the applicant or, if a
corporation, by an officer thereof. An application for a permit must include the name-of the licensee employing
such permittee, and the permit issued in pursuance of such application must also set forth the name of such
licensee. A permit is valid solely for use by the holder thereof in his or her employment by the licensee named in

the permit.
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(d) A license of any class may not be issued or renewed by the division and a license of any class does not
remain operative unless:

1. The applicant has submitted to the State Fire Marshal evidence of registration as a Florida corporation or
evidence of compliance with s. 865.09.

2. The State Fire Marshal or his or her designee has by inspection determined that the applicant possesses the
equipment required for the class of license sought. The State Fire Marshal shall give an applicant a reasonable
opportunity to correct any deficiencies discovered by inspection. To obtain such inspection, an applicant with
facilities located outside this state must: .

a. Provide a notarized statement from a professional engineer licensed by the applicant’s state of domicile
certifying that the applicant possesses the equipment required for the class of license sought and that all such
equipment is operable; or _

b. Allow the State Fire Marshal or her or his designee to inspect the facility. All costs associated with the State
Fire Marshal’s inspection shall be paid by the applicant. The State Fire Marshal, in accordance with s. 120.54, may
adopt rules to establish standards for the calculation and establishment of the amount of costs associated with any
inspection conducted by the State Fire Marshal under this section. Such rules shall include procedures for invoicing
and receiving funds in advance of the inspection.

3. The applicant has submitted to the State Fire Marshal proof of insurance providing coverage for
comprehensive general liability for bodily injury and property damage, products liability, completed operations,
and contractual liability. The State Fire Marshal shall adopt rules providing for the amounts of such coverage, but
such amounts may not be less than $300,000 for Class A or Class D licenses, $200,000 for Class B licenses, and
$100,000 for Class C licenses; and the total coverage for any class of license held in conjunction with a Class D
license may not be less than $300,000. The State Fire Marshal may, at any time after the issuance of a license or
its renewal, require upon demand, and in no event more than 30 days after notice of such demand, the licensee to
provide proof of insurance, on a form provided by the State Fire Marshal, containing confirmation of insurance
Coverage as required by this chapter. Failure, for any length of time, to provide proof of insurance coverage as
required shall result in the immediate suspension of the license until proof of proper insurance is provided to the
State Fire Marshal. An insurer which provides such coverage shall notify the State Fire Marshal of any change in
coverage or of any termination, cancellation, or nonrenewal of any coverage.

4. The applicant applies to the State Fire Marshal, provides proof of experience, and successfully completes a
prescribed training course offered by the State Fire College or an equivalent course approved by the State Fire
Marshal. This subparagraph does not apply to any holder of or applicant for a permit under paragraph (g) or to a
business organization or a governmental entity seeking initial licensure or renewal of an existing license solely for
the purpose of inspecting, servicing, repairing, marking, recharging, and maintaining fire extinguishers used and
located on the premises of and owned by such organization or entity.

5. The applicant has a current retestor identification number that is appropriate for the license for which the
applicant is applying and that is listed with the United States Department of Transportation.

6. The applicant has passed, with a grade of at least 70 percent, a written examination testing his or her
knowledge of the rules and statutes governing the activities authorized by the license and demonstrating his or her
knowledge and ability to perform those tasks in a competent, lawful, and safe manner. Such examination shall be
developed and administered by the State Fire Marshal, or his or her designee in accordance with policies and
procedures of the State Fire Marshal. An applicant shall pay a nonrefundable examination fee of $50 for each
examination or reexamination scheduled. A reexamination may not be scheduled sooner than 30 days after any
administration of an examination to an applicant. An applicant may not be permitted to take an examination for
any level of license more than a total of four times during 1 year, regardless of the number of applications
submitted. As a prerequisite to licensure of the applicant, he or she:

a. Must be at least 18 years of age.
b. Must have 4 years of proven experience as a fire equipment permittee at a level equal to or greater than the

level of license applied for or have a combination of education and experience determined to be equivalent
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thereto by the State Fire Marshal. Having held a permit at the appropriate level for the required period constitutes
the required experience.

c. Must not have been convicted of a felony or a crime punishable by imprisonment of 1 year or more under the
law of the United States or of any state thereof or under the law of any other country. “Convicted” means a
finding of guilt or the acceptance of a plea of guilty or nolo contendere in any federal or state court or a court in
any other country, without regard to whether a judgment of conviction has been entered by the court having
jurisdiction of the case. If an applicant has been convicted of any such felony, the applicant shall be excluded from
licensure for a period of 4 years after expiration of sentence or final release by the Florida Commission on
Offender Review unless the applicant, before the expiration of the 4-year peridd, has received a full pardon or has
had her or his civil rights restored.

This subparagraph does not apply to any holder of or applicant for a permit under paragraph (g) or to a business
organization or a governmental entity seeking initial licensure or renewal of an existing license solely for the
purpose of inspecting, servicing, repairing, marking, recharging, hydrotesting, and maintaining fire extinguishers
used and located on the premises of and owned by such organization or entity.

(e) A fire equipment dealer licensed under this section may apply to convert the license currently held to a
higher licensing category, if the licensed dealer:

1. Submits an application for the license on a form in conformance with paragraph (c). The application must be
accompanied by a fee as prescribed in s. 633.132 for the type of license requested.

2. Provides evidence of 2 years’ experience as a licensed dealer and meets such relevant educational
requirements as are established by rule by the State Fire Marshal for purposes of upgrading a license.

3. Meets the requirements of paragraph (d).

(f) A fire equipment dealer licensed under this section may apply to convert the license currently held to a
tower licensing category, if the licensed dealer:

1. Submits an application for the license on a form in conformance with paragraph (c). The application must be
accompanied by a fee as prescribed in s. 633.132 for the type of license requested.

2. Submits proof of insurance providing coverage meeting the requirements prescribed in subparagraph (d)3.

3. Submits to an inspection of the facility to ensure all equipment associated with the higher class of license
has been removed and submits the required reinspection fee.

(8) A permit of any class may not be issued or renewed to a person by the division, and a permit of any class
does not remain operative, unless the person has:

1. Submitted a nonrefundable examination fee in the amount of $50.

2. Successfully completed a training course offered by the State Fire College or an equivalent course approved
by the State Fire Marshal.

3. Passed, with a grade of at least 70 percent, a written examination testing his or her knowledge of the rules
and statutes governing the activities authorized by the permit and demonstrating his or her knowledge and ability
to perform those tasks in a competent, lawful, and safe manner. Such examination must be developed and
administered by the State Fire Marshal in accordance with the policies and procedures of the State Fire Marshal. An
examination fee must be paid for each examination scheduled. A reexamination may not be scheduled sooner than
30 days after any administration of an examination to an applicant. An applicant may not be permitted to take an
examination for any level of permit more than four times during 1 year, regardless of the number of applications
submitted. As a prerequisite to taking the permit examination, the applicant must be at least 16 years of age.

(h) An applicant for a license or permit under this section who fails the examination may take it three more
times during the 1-year period after he or she originally filed an application for the examination. If the applicant
fails the examination within 1 year after the application date and he or she seeks to retake the examination, he or
she must file a new application, pay the application and examination fees, and successfully complete a prescribed
training course offered by the State Fire College or an equivalent course approved by the State Fire Marshal. The
applicant may not submit a new application within 6 months after the date of his or her fourth reexamination. An
applicant who passes the examination but does not meet the remaining qualifications prescribed by law and rule
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within 1 year after the application date must file a new application, pay the application and examination fee,
successfully complete a prescribed training course approved by the State Fire College or an equivalent course
approved by the State Fire Marshal, and pass the written examination.

(5)(a) No one that is being trained shall perform work requiring a permit unless an individual possessing a valid
and current fire equipment permit for the type of work performed is physically presént. The trainee must:

1. Be 18 years of age:

2. Possess on his or her person at all times a valid Florida driver license or a valid state identification card,
issued by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. A trainee must produce identification to the State
Fire Marshal or his or her designated representative upon demand.

(b) No more than two trainees shall be under the supervision of a single trainer, who shall be directly
responsible for all work performed by any trainee while under his or her supervision. No trainee shall perform any
work not within the scope of the license or permit held by the fire equipment dealer or permittee directly
supervising his or her work. :

(6) The State Fire Marshal shall adopt rules providing for the approval of the time, place, and curriculum of
each training course required by this section. _

(7) Every permittee must have a valid and subsisting permit upon his or her person at all times while engaging
in the servicing, recharging, repairing, testing, inspecting, or installing of fire extinguishers and preengineered
systems, and every licensee or permittee must be able to produce such license or permit upon demand. In
addition, every permittee shall at all times carry an identification card containing his or her photograph and other
identifying information as prescribed by the State Fire Marshal or the State Fire Marshal’s designee, which shall be
produced on demand. The State Fire Marshal shall supply this card at a fee which shall be related to the cost of
producing the card.

(8) The fees collected for any such licenses and permits and the filing fees for license and permit examination
are hereby appropriated for the use of the State Fire Marshal in the administration of this chapter and shall be
deposited in the Insurance Regulatory Trust Fund.

(9) _ This section does not apply to inspections by fire chiefs, fire inspectors, fire marshals, or insurance

company inspectors.
(10) All fire extinguishers and preengineered systems that are required by statute or by rule must be serviced,

recharged, repaired, hydrotested, tested, inspected, and instalted in compliance with this chapter and with the
rules adopted by the State Fire Marshal. The State Fire Marshal may adopt by rule the standards of the National
Fire Protection Association and of other reputable national organizations.

(11) I the licensee leaves the business organization or dies, the business organization shall immediately notify
the State Fire Marshal of the licensee’s departure, shall return the license to the State Fire Marshal, and shall have
a grace period of 60 days in which to license another person under the provisions of this chapter, failing which the

business shall no longer perform those activities for which a license under this section is required.

History.—s. 6, ch. 65-216; s. 4, ch. 67-78; ss. 13, 35, ch. 69-106; s. 1, ch. 71-141; s. 3, ch. 75-240; s. 3, ch. 76-168; s. 1, ch. 77-457; ss.
1,8, ch. 78-141; 5. 2, ch. 81-318; s. 2, ch. 84-243; ss. 1, 2, ch. 85-128; s. 8, ch. 87-287; 5. 15, ch. 89-233; s. 3, ch. 90-359; s. 3, ch. 91-
189; s. 4, ch. 91-429; s.'3, ch. 93-276; s. 37, ch. 95-211; s. 10, ch. 95-379; s. 423, ch. 97-102; s. 1, ch. 97-124; s. 2, ch. 98-170; s. 53, ch.
98-419; s. 28, ch. 99-254; 5. 1, ch. 2000-155; s. 5, ch. 2002-287; s. 1395, ch. 2003-261; s. 51, ch. 2010-176; s. 35, ch.-2013-183; 5. 12, ch.

2014-191.
Note.—Formers. 633.061.
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Select Year: §2

The 2017 Florida Statutes

Title XXXVII Chapter 633 View Entire Chapter
INSURANCE FIRE PREVENTION AND CONTROL

633.308 Standard service tag required on all fire extinguishers and preengineered systems; serial
number required on all portable fire extinguishers; standard inspection tags required on all fire protection
systems.— 4

(1) The State Fire Marshal shall adopt by rule specifications as to the size, shape, color, and information and
data contained thereon of service tags to be attached to all fire extinguishers and preengineered systems required
by statute or by rule, whether they be portable, stationary, or on wheels when they are placed in service,
installed, serviced, repaired, tested, recharged, or inspected. Fire extinguishers may be tagged only after meeting
all standards as set forth by this chapter, the standards of the National Fire Protection Association, and
manufacturer’s specifications. Preengineered systems may be tagged only after a system has been inspected,
serviced, installed, repaired, tested, recharged, and hydrotested in compliance with this chapter, the standards of
the National Fire Protection Association, and the manufacturer’s specifications, and after a report, as specified by
rule, has been completed in detail, indicating any and all deficiencies or deviations from the manufacturer’s
specifications and the standards of the National Fire Protection Association. A copy of the inspection report shall
be provided to the owner at the time of inspectibn, and, if a system is found to be in violation of this chapter, the
manufacturer’s specifications, or the standards of the National Fire Protection Association, a copy shall be
forwarded to the state or local authority having jurisdiction within 30 days from the date of service. It shall be
unlawful to place in service, service, test, repair, inspect, install, hydrotest or recharge any fire extinguisher or
preengineered system without attaching one of these tags completed in detail, including the actual month work
was performed, or to use a tag not meeting the specifications set forth by the State Fire Marshal.

(2) All portable fire extinguishers required by statute or by rule must be listed by Underwriters Laboratories,
Inc., or approved by Factory Mutual Laboratories, Inc., or listed by a nationally recognized testing laboratory in
accordance with procedures adopted pursuant to s. 633.314(2), and carry an Underwriters Laboratories, Inc., or
manufacturer’s serial number. These listings, approvals, and serial numbers may be stamped on the
manufacturer’s identification and instructions plate or on a separate Underwriters Laboratories, Inc., or Factory
Mutual Laboratories, Inc., plate soldered or attached to the extinguisher shell in some permanent manner.

3) The State Fire Marshal shall adopt by rule specifications as to the size, shape, color, information, and data
contained thereon of inspection tags to be attached to all types of fire protection systems and information

required on an inspection report of such an inspection.

History.—s. 7, ch, 65-216; s. 4, ch. 67-78; ss. 13, 35, ch. 69-106; s. 2, ch. 71-141; 5. 17, ch. 89-233; . 38, ch. 95-211; s. 2, ch. 97-124;
s. 4, ch. 98-170; 5. 55, ch. 98-419; s. 24, ch. 2005-147; s. 37, ch. 2013-183. A

Note.—Former s. 633.071.
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Title XXXVII Chapter 633 View Entire Chapter
INSURANCE FIRE PREVENTION AND CONTROL

633.312 Inspection of fire control systems, fire hydrants, and fire protection systems.—

(1) The State Fire Marshal shall have the right to inspect any fire control system during and after construction
to determine that such system meets the standards set forth in the laws and rules of the state.

(2) Fire hydrants and fire protection systems installed in public and private properties, except one-family or
two-family dwellings, shall be inspected following procedures established in the nationally recognized inspection,
testing, and maintenance standards publications NFPA-24 and NFPA-25 as set forth in the edition adopted by the
State Fire Marshal. Quarterly, annual, 3-year, and 5-year inspections consistent with the contractual provisions
with the owner shall be conducted by the certificateholder or permittees employed by the certificateholder
pursuant to s. 633.318, except that:

(a) Public fire hydrants owned by a governmental entity shall be inspected following procedures established in
the inspection, testing, and maintenance standards adopted by the State Fire Marshal or equivalent standards such
as those contained in the latest edition of the American Water Works Association’s Manual M17, “Installation, Field
Testing, and Maintenance of Fire Hydrants.”

(b) County, municipal, and special district utilities may perform fire hydrant inspections required by this
section using designated employees. Such designated employees need not be certified under this chapter.
However, counties, municipalities, or special districts that use designated employees are responsible for ensuring
that the designated employees are qualified to perform such inspections.

(3) The inspecting contractor shall provide to the building owner or hydrant owner and the local authority
having jurisdittion a copy of the applicable inspection report established under this chapter. The maintenance of
fire hydrant and fire protection systems as well as corrective actions on deficient systems is the responsibility of
the owner of the system or hydrant. Equipment requiring periodic testing or operation to ensure its maintenance
shall be tested or operated as specified in the Fire Prevention Code, Life Safety Code, National Fire Protection
Association standards, or as directed by the appropriate authority, provided that such appropriate authority may
not require a sprinkler system not required by the Fire Prevention Code, Life Safety Code, or National Fire
Protection Association standards to be removed regardless of its condition. This section does not prohibit
governmental entities from inspecting and enforcing firesafety codes.

(4) At least once each year, each fire hydrant shall be opened fully and the water allowed to flow until all
foreign materials have cleared the hydrant. The flow shall be maintained for not less than 1 minute.

(5) If a fire hydrant is made nonfunctional by the closing of a water supply valve, the valve must immediately
be tagged with a red tag that is boldly marked “nonfunctional” and the local fire authority notified that the

hydrant is nonfunctional. ,
History.—s. 7, ch, 78-141; s, 25, ch. 2005-147; s. 9, ch. 2006-65; s. 2, ch. 2010-173; s. 53, ch. 2010-176; s. 38, ch. 2013-183.

Note.—Former s. 633.082,
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633.334 Requirements for installation, inspection, and maintenance of fire protection systems.—

(1) The requirements for installation of fire protection systems are as follows:

(@) Contractors of fire protection systems shall be certified under s. 633.318.

(b) Equipment shall be listed by a nationally recognized testing laboratory, such as Underwriters Laboratories,
Inc., or Factory Mutual Laboratories, Inc., or shall comply with nationally accepted standards. The State Fire
Marshal shall adopt by rule procedures for determining whether a laboratory is nationally recognized, taking into
account the laboratory’s facilities, procedures, use of nationally recognized standards, and any other criteria
reasonably calculated to reach an informed determination.

(c) Equipment shall be installed in accordance with the applicable standards of the Natlonal Fire Protectwn
Association and the manufacturer’s specifications. '

(d) Each piece of equipmént supplied shall be guaranteed for a period of 1 year against defects in material or

operations.
(e) The contractor shall furnish the user with operating mstructlons for all equlpment installed, together with a

dlagram of the final installation.

(2) Equipment shall be inspected, serviced, and maintained in accordance with the manufacturer’s
maintenance procedures and with applicable National Fire Protection Association standards. The inspection of fire
protection systems shall be conducted by a certificateholder or holder of a permit issued by the division. The
permitholder may perform inspections on fire protection systems only while employed by the certificateholder.
This section does not prohibit the authority having jurisdiction or insurance company representatives from
reviewing the system in accordance with acceptable oversight standards. \

(3) For contracts written after June 30, 2005, the contractor who installs the underground piping from the
point of service is responsible for completing the installation to the aboveground connection flange, which by
definition in this chapter is no more than 1 foot above the finished floor, before completing the Contractor’s
Material and Test Certificate for Underground Piping document. Aboveground contractors may not complete the
Contractor’s Material and Test Certificate for Underground Piping document for underground piping or portions
thereof which have been installed by others. ‘

(4) The Contractor V may install the cross-connection backflow prevention device as defined in this chapter on
new installations following the engineer of record’s direction on the type and size of the device. The retrofitting of
a backflow device on an existing fire protection system will cause a reduction in available water pressure and
probable system malfunction. The development of aboveground fire protection system hydraulic calculations is a
task of the Contractor I and I, as defined in this chapter. Accordingly, a Contractor V is expressly prohibited from
retrofitting cross-connection backflow prevention devices on an existing fire protection system, and only a
Contractor | or Contractor Il who is tasked to recalculate the system and take corrective actions to ensure that the
system will function with the available water supply may retroactively install these backflow devices on existing

fire protection systems.
History.—ss. 32, 40, ch. 89-233; s. 9, ch. 91-189; s. 4, ch. 91-429; 5. 29, ch. 2005-147; 5.94, ch. 2006-1; s. 47, ch. 2013-183,

Note.—Former s. 633.539.
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633.348 Requirements for fire alarm system equipment.—The requirements for fire alarm system
equipment are: _

(1) Equipment supplied shall be approved by a nationally recognized testing laboratory, and installed in
accordance with its procedures. Any testing laboratory wishing to be considered “nationally recognized” by the
State Fire Marshal shall submit an application to the State Fire Marshal for certification in accordance with
procedures established by the State Fire Marshal by rule. The State Fire Marshal shall consider the applicant’s use
of and compliance with nationally accepted testing procedures, the applicant’s inspection procedures including
quality control, recognition by any other state or jurisdiction, and such other criteria as are reasohably necessary
to reach an informed decision. : ,

(2) Equipment shall be installed in accordance with the applicable standards of the National Fire Protection
Association and procedures approved by said testing laboratory.

(3) Each piece of equipment supplied shall be warranted for a period of 1 year against defects in material or
operation.

(4) The fire alarm system contractor or the certified unl1m1ted electrical contractor shall furnish the user w1th
appropriate documentation as required by the National Fire Protection Asscciation standards, operating
instructions for all equipment installed, together with a diagram of the final installation, except where the
ownership of the system remains with the contractor.

(5) All fire alarm systems required by the State Fire Marshal’s rules shall be installed, serviced, tested,
repaired, inspected, and improved in compliance with the provisions of the applicable standards of the National
Fire Protection Association as adopted by rule.

(6) The State Fire Marshal shall promulgate specifications, by rule, regarding the information and data to be
contained in the test certificate hereby required to be provided to the consumer when the fire alarm system is
installed, serviced, tested, repaired, improved, or inspected. It shall be unlawful to install, service, test, repair,
improve, or inspect any fire alarm system without providing the consumer with a completed test certificate.

(7) The State Fire Marshal shall promulgate by rule specifications as to the size, shape, and color and the
information to be contained in the service tags hereby required to be attached to all fire alarm systems when they
are installed, serviced, tested, repaired, inspected, or improved. It shall be unlawful to install, service, test,
repair, inspect, or improve a fire system without attaching a completed tag, or to use a tag not meeting the
specifications of the State Fire Marshal.

History.—ss. 12, 14, ch. 87-254; s. 70, ch, 91-110; s. 10, ch. 91-189; s. 53, ch. 2013-183.
Note.—Former s. 633.701.
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